top of page

My Week in Shëngjin, Albania

Updated: Jan 30, 2023

In July 2017, my family and I took a trip from Ferizaj, Kosovo to Shëngjin, Albania. The road trip there was so beautiful, let alone the destination itself. Shëngjin contained the ultimate vacation package: relaxation, yummy food, and a great atmosphere for all ages.


The waves kiss the shore with salty water as the hot sun glistens on the sea. The sound of kids laughing and vendors selling their products travel between the umbrellas like a gentle breeze. Fresh burek comes straight out of the oven first thing in the morning as the bakeries open and cafes along the boardwalk welcome tourists with the smell of macchiatos and croissants.


That was my morning in Shëngjin, Albania.


In July 2017, my family and I took trip from Ferizaj, Kosovo to Shëngjin, Albania. The road trip there was so beautiful, let alone the destination itself. I really wasn't expecting the scenery on a highway drive to be so gorgeous, especially since I was used to driving on mountain-less I-96 in Michigan. Albania is known for their stunning valleys and mountains covering almost every inch of the country.

Shëngjin contained the ultimate vacation package: relaxation, yummy food, and a great atmosphere for all ages.


Arrival. . .

When we arrived, there were people offering tourists a hotel room or apartment for their stay. The majority of the visitors didn't really have to worry about making a reservation. They just arrived and had someone find them a place for their stay. Each hotel has their own section of umbrellas on the beach reserved for their guests so you don’t have to worry about bringing chairs and umbrellas with you. They also have a great view overlooks the Adriatic Sea, which allowed the sunset's golden light to flood into our rooms. On the main beach, there were vendors selling fruits, vegetables, sunflower seeds, petulla (donuts), sunscreen, and so on.

Rera e Hedhur

We drove to the other side of a mountain where there were fewer people. This area, Rera e Hedhur, recently opened up to tourists as additional restaurants and hotels were being built. My siblings and I collected sea shells along the shore and placed them in a bag to take home with us.



Food

Many restaurant names in Shëngjin refer to cities in Kosovo, such as Gjakova and Prizren. The menus contain traditional dishes such as burek, pasul, and qofte. In addition, they have options that everyone is familiar with, including pizza, pasta, and hamburgers. I tried something new and chose the pasta with shrimp and cherry tomatoes, accompanied by a side salad (as seen in the photo). If you've never had a traditional Albanian dish, try it! Just ask what the special is or what most people order if you don't know what to pick. I promise you won't be disappointed!





Activities

Now we've relaxed on the beach and ate delicious food, but what else is there to do in this city? Shëngjin is filled with activities for people of all ages. Restaurants, cafes, and markets are located right on the beach. As for the night life, the city lights up with music and people. More vendors set up tables around sunset, selling jewelry, toys, purses, souvenirs and so much more. Families wait in line at various carnival games, eating colorful cotton candy and ice cream. My siblings and I went on the bumper cars at least five times in one night. It didn’t really matter how old you were. We were all having a good time.

If I had to choose one of my favorite things about this trip, it would be the live music. One of the hotels had chairs and tables set up, with waiters serving food and drinks to guests. No one seemed to go to sleep before midnight. People are up dancing valle (a traditional Albanian dance), singing, laughing, having conversations, and just enjoying themselves.

It was the perfect way to wind down and rest my feet after a long, fun day. The light breeze from the sea brushed over me as I closed my eyes and embraced every moment.



Images by Vesa.

 

580 views

Related Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page